Celebrating 30 years of Legal Council!

Legal Council's 30th Anniversary Gala

Legal Council's 30th Anniversary Gala was a hit! Thank you to everyone who supported this special, one-time, sold out event.

Special thank you to Gala Co-Chairs Kimball R. Anderson and Karen Gatsis Anderson, local leaders in law and longtime supporters of Legal Council.

“Thirty years ago, our hero James Monroe Smith founded AIDS Legal Council to serve the legal needs of persons affected by H.I.V,” said Kimball R. Anderson, who served as the first Board of Directors President for Legal Council. “We worked with Smith at the inception of this organization to help him achieve his dream of affording access to justice to a portion of our community that really needed help.”

“Legal Council continues to serve a vital need in our community because access to critical health care and justice remain in jeopardy.  We are honored to chair Legal Council’s thirtieth anniversary gala,” said Karen Gatsis Anderson.

And congratulations to the night's three honorees!

Legal Council's 30th Anniversary Gala Co-Chairs Kimball R. Anderson and Karen Gatsis Anderson on October 13, 2018.


Community partners Howard Brown Health received the Anderson Community Award, honoring their exceptional dedication to removing barriers to health care for Illinoisans.

University of Chicago Medicine's Dr. Nicole Hamp received the Ann Hilton Fisher Advocate Award, honoring her distinguished advocacy efforts that have advanced Legal Council’s mission in serving individuals facing barriers due to chronic illnesses or disabilities.

State Representative Greg Harris received the James Monroe Smith Founder Award, honoring his outstanding leadership in promoting and protecting quality, affordable, and accessible health care and services for marginalized communities.


Click here for more Legal Council Gala photos and share with the hashtag #LegalCouncil30!

Dr. Nicole Hamp, 2018 Ann Hilton Fisher Advocate Award winner, and representatives from Howard Brown Health, 2018 Anderson Community Award winner, David Ernesto Munar and Michelle Wetzel on October 13.